Checkatrade

Customer Reviews

Reviews (New to Old)Reviews (New to Old)
10

Kitchen Extension

Verified Review

Builders found a shared drain before work started and this delayed the project as building work has to be done to move the drains, and then plans had to be altered to build around the drain. The work itself was done quickly and without any major problems. The management of the work was excellent, and we could rely on the builders to just get on with it. Finishing on all aspects of building ( flooring, plastering etc. ) all to a very high standard. There were no additional costs, and unforeseen things ( apart from the drain ) that cost us more money. We are extremely happy with the build.

9.75

Loft conversion

Verified Review

We had our loft converted and they did an amazing job. There was some mess which is to be expected but they did what they could to minimize. Would definitely use for the extension we want and would recommend

9.5

Large extension, removal of 2 chimneys, lots of internal work.

Verified Review

We've been very happy with Simon and his team. There were many difficulties that needed to be overcome from difficult neighbours, asbestos to the work spec changing over and over and all of it was handled very professionally. We couldn't be happier and look forward to using Premier again for our loft in the future.

2.75

Loft conversion

Verified Review

The construction of our loft is unfinished, has not been carried out to a satisfactory standard and does not adhere to the architects drawings and SE documents they were provided. It also doesn’t comply with building regulations. After months of discussion the company is unwilling to rectify the major aspects of work such as putting the floor in the correct position and adjusting the stair case. The work is of an extremely poor standard, for example the whole roof needs to come off and be redone. We have an unfinished loft we can’t use.

Score Breakdown

Workmanship

1

Reliability & timekeeping

3

Tidiness

2

Courtesy

5

Reply from Premier By Design Ltd

We have been designing and building quality loft conversions for over 20 years. We accept there have been some small issues on this project, as with any project, which we have without quibble corrected to comply with building regulations. Having first looked at the working drawings provided by the customer, we did point out that we felt it was a poorly designed conversion and once built there would not be adequate headroom. The architect had not taken into account a major structural beam that would be needed which would dictate the floor level. But we were strongly told to build to the drawings provided. Once built the client tried to put the blame across to us that the floor height needed to be lower as they were unable to walk around a bed without walking into the roof in the rear of the property. We had stated it needed redesigning structurally to create usable headroom. We feel the feedback given is a fabrication of the truth against our company on, a platform on which we rely on. For reference this project is fully plastered and nearing completion, with a substantial balance left on the project for finishing.

9

Loft conversation

Verified Review

We found the whole team to be 1st class. There was a hickup with one tradesman but the company sorted it out fast and efficiently. It was a pleasure having the team working on our house and we are incredibly happy with the results.

9.5

En-suite bedroom loft conversion, plus new boiler

Verified Review

From the first meeting with Simon through to the last tidy up day With Craig we could not be more pleased with Premier, the work, and the tradesmen they have working for them. Special mention to Rhys, Alex, Ryan, Sam,Tony and James, all of whom, worked tirelessly in getting the job done whilst being clean, considerate and courteous that it was still a habitual home with children living there. All trades were so lovely with our 1 year old daughter and always ensured she felt comfortable and safe. We’re very happy with the finished project and would highly recommend Simon, Steve and all the Premier team

9.5

New ensuite toilet in bedroom.

Verified Review

The work wasn't straightforward but the advantage of using Premier is that they can call on the trades needed at various times during the works. The timescale was extended as I had to make short spells away from home for family purposes which I arranged in cooperation with Premier.

9.5

Large single story rear extension

Verified Review

Price was as quoted and competitive compared to most others. Having used them before (loft conversion) I knew the office were excellent to deal with. Overall the workmanship was good with any issues identified put right and the final result excellent. As with all building work there were challenges to overcome, mainly the roof and glazing getting done, which Premier got sorted. Workman on the whole polite (Craig, Des, Steve, Lloyd , Sam - especially) and got on with what was needed. If you use them ask for a schedule for the week so you know what is happening as it makes life easier.

9.25

Loft conversion

Verified Review

Our work start was delayed due to a dispute with a neighbour but Premier honoured the quote, even though the start of the works went past the expiry date. The initial build was incredibly fast, took only four weeks. The transition between trades was very well organised and we didn't need to worry about a thing. They made upgrades to our original spec at our request and were upfront about the extra cost. There were a couple of delays due to trades availability but this was beyond their control. Overall, we are absolutely delighted with our new rooms and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Premier.

9

Loft Conversion

Verified Review

The finished loft room and associated staircases are beautifully finished. All the guys worked very hard and carefully. We are exceedingly pleased with the end result. Communication was a bit lacking earlier in the project, arrangements would be made to work, we would get up early so as to be ready, but the nobody would show. Eventually we would phone only to be told the guys not coming today. However, this issue was addressed and time keeping did improve. Towards the end of the project, the sense of urgency seemed to lapse, and we seemed to be chasing to get the finishing touches completed.