Customer Reviews (348)

Reviews (New to Old)Reviews (New to Old)
10

Damp proofing.

Verified Review

Efficient and thorough. Excellent work.

Location: South Croydon
Reviewed in: October 2016
10

Treatment to timbers.

Verified Review

Very good all round company.

Location: Surrey
Reviewed in: August 2016
9.75

Treatment for damp.

Verified Review

Professional and efficient. Work carried out in a neat and tidy manner.

Location: London
Reviewed in: August 2016
10

Damp Proof Course.

Verified Review

Very helpful. Surveyor was courteous and knowledgeable. Professional work to a high standard.

Location: Wallington
Reviewed in: August 2016
8.5

Damp Treatment.

Verified Review

Professional, pleasant and helpful but did not share information until requested.

Location: Chessington
Reviewed in: July 2016
3

Waterproofing of walls

Verified Review

Not in all my 20 years of building projects have I ever come up against such a useless and badly managed company. It appears to be manned by 2 ladies who work part time who don't compare notes. In the two months I dealt with them not once did they return my call or contact me until it got nasty. I could write an essay on this. Water under the bridge now but I feel it is my duty to inform anyone out there considering using them - let the buyer beware!

Score Breakdown

Workmanship

5

Timekeeping

0

Courtesy

4
Location: London
Reviewed in: July 2016

Reply from Shaw Preservations Ltd

I am sorry you had a poor experience. This contract was carried out during the holiday period and as a small company when a member of the team is on holiday it has an effect on the Company. We now employ a telephone answering service to cover times we are unable to answer the phone personally. I understand you were selling the property and the work was a condition of sale. Whilst you wanted to save money, your wife wanted the complete works carried out resulting in numerous calls and emails changing of instructions - sometimes twice daily. We are adept at changing plans last minute but not to such an extent and as such enormous pressure was placed on the office team. I am quite surprised regarding the score for workmanship. We have never been informed of a problem in the standard of work. After selling the property the guarantee was transferred into the new owner’s name and the property re-inspected and I have not been notified of any complaints or defects. I have searched our files and can’t seem to find any record of the relationship becoming “nasty” and I can only apologise if this was your perception.

10

Damp Proof Survey.

Verified Review

The damp survey was satisfactory. An explanation was given that the damp was entirely due to condensation within the house. Suggestions for improvement included better ventilation, extractor fans in kitchen and bathroom and keeping the central heating on at a low setting during the winter months, when the house was unoccupied.

Location: South Croydon
Reviewed in: June 2016
10

Hoop Iron Inspection

Verified Review

Whilst the work undertaken was without our presence the staff in the office were extremely helpful and polite detailing exactly what, when and how. The public facing of this Company was excellent.

Location: Carshalton
Reviewed in: May 2016
9.5

Treatment for Woodworm.

Verified Review

Very good, polite and helpful. Good reviews and local.

Location: Woking
Reviewed in: May 2016
10

New damp course.

Verified Review

I was not pleased to find that we had a rising damp problem and not looking forward to having to have the work done with all the attendant noise disruption. The technician and plasterers could not have been more respectful of our property. They knew what a dust sheet was and how to use a vacuum cleaner. You can’t make an omelette without breaking eggs but they did everything possible to minimise the disruption. I can’t fault them. I can’t speak for the end result as this will only become evident over time but I do have faith and trust in them.

Location: Betchworth
Reviewed in: May 2016