Customer Reviews (349)

Reviews (New to Old)Reviews (New to Old)
9.75

Damp proof and replastering work.

Verified Review

Very pleased with the work overall.

Location: Epsom
Reviewed in: August 2017
10

Plastering and laid new wooden floors.

Verified Review

Great company. We will be recommending this company to my friends and family. Very professional from start to finish and so clean. They did a fantastic job and took the time out to answer any of my questions or concerns. My new wooden floor looks great.

Location: Ashford
Reviewed in: August 2017
10

Damp Proof Membrane and replastering in under stairs cupboard.

Verified Review

We have used this company before and went back to them because they do a professional job in a polite, tidy and timely manner. We were not disappointed. We had some queries about timing of the various stages which were all answered by the approachable admin staff.

Location: Carshalton
Reviewed in: August 2017
10

Treatment for furniture beetle.

Verified Review

The company provided a professional service from the initial enquiry through to completion of the treatment. Helpful and polite at all stages of the work.

Location: Sutton
Reviewed in: July 2017
10

Plastering the living room wall.

Verified Review

Absolutely satisfied with the job done and very professional builders. Could not expect more.

Location: Croydon
Reviewed in: July 2017
4.5

New floorboards layer - well below standard  as a poor level of work

Verified Review

Very poorly laid wood floor to replace part rotten original floorboards. Surveyed by building surveyor who confirmed the work was below standard. Damage to Edwardian fireplace and further damage to skirting boards

Score Breakdown

Workmanship

1

Timekeeping

6

Tidiness

5

Courtesy

6
Location: Richmond
Reviewed in: July 2017

Reply from Shaw Preservations Ltd

Amongst other items of work a timber floor was specified and quoted for. Whilst on site the client asked us to carry out extra work that was not on the original quote or asked for beforehand. We obliged and carried out this work free of charge. However, she was not satisfied and changed the specification. Again we obliged free of charge. The client forwarded us a snagging list and we agreed to address every point ( including pencil marks on the timbers that hadn’t been erased after completion!) On our arrival and during the snagging works, she said she had “allowed us sufficient time to do this and was now going to consult specialists with a view to going to court” We received her specialists report which didn’t mention many of the issues she had addressed but did admit to aspects that needed attention that had already been agreed in our snagging list which would have been attended to had we been allowed.

10

Internal injection of new DPC, replacement of floor joists and creation of external pea shingle gully (French drain).

Verified Review

It has been a pleasure dealing with Shaw. From initially finding their informative website and reading other reviews, arranging the survey and then having the work done, they have been easy to deal with, helpful over the phone and by email, and all the workmen have been polite, courteous and efficient. The work took about 5 days in total over a few weeks and each day they were in, they cleaned and tidied up after themselves to a higher standard than I'd expected. By its nature, it will take more time to see the full benefits/quality of the damp work but so far so good.

Location: London
Reviewed in: May 2017
10

Survey.

Verified Review

Survey was taken given an estimate of a 5 day turn around it was done in 2.

Location: Carshalton
Reviewed in: April 2017
4.75

Attempted remediation of penetrating damp on first floor bedroom wall.

Verified Review

The work they proposed/did to fix the above problem has not and never did work. They have tried a couple of times to fix however this has also not worked and I am left with approx 1 m sq of exposed brickwork in my five year old son's bedroom which he has been unable to use for over a year now whilst this issue has been ongoing.

Score Breakdown

Workmanship

4

Timekeeping

6

Tidiness

3

Courtesy

6
Location: Epsom
Reviewed in: April 2017

Reply from Shaw Preservations Ltd

As standard with all our inspections, a report was submitted prior to the work being carried out stating the wall would take up to 1 year to dry out. Upon receipt of the invoice the customer refused to pay. 6 weeks later we received an email asking us to visit stating the area isn't wet it just looks like a stain. At the customer’s insistence, we re-plastered the section of wall. Despite the stain shrinking, we agreed to return and removed another section of plaster to have the brickwork and plaster analysed independently. During the plaster removal we found the cause of the stain but the customer refused to accept this. Our visit showed the damp patch had reduced to 25mm2 and not 1m2 as indicated by the customer. A photo in our gallery will corroborate this. As a Company established in 1974 with an excellent reputation we feel our conduct has been exemplary. The customer was advised prior to the inspection to allow time for the wall to dry and despite refusing to pay our invoice, we visited and carried out work several times in order to allay the customer’s unfounded fears over their sons health.

10

Damp Proofing.

Verified Review

Excellent all round, my only comment would be rather too much information sent out when booking, which I'm sure could be simplified.

Location: Chessington
Reviewed in: April 2017