Customer Reviews (91)

Reviews (New to Old)Reviews (New to Old)
10

Fixing two leaks and general repairs to roofs, gutters and parapets

Verified Review

David and the whole team at BARL were really helpful and have done an incredible job fixing our roof. The team were very professional and they got the work done quickly and to a very high standard. David is a real expert, he kept us in the loop the whole way and went above and beyond to fix everything. We originally got in touch about two leaks we had discovered but our roof was quite old (house is Victorian and there haven't been repairs in years) and David was also able to advise about some additional repairs to help prevent future problems. Would highly recommend.

Location: E5
Reviewed in: June 2022
9.25

Repairs to leaking roof

Verified Review

I used BARL to fix my leaking roof on my Victorian Terrace house in Mile End. David was quick to respond when I called him and was able to quickly identify what was causing the leak and got his team over to start the work within a couple of days. He also arranged for the redecoration to be completed which was really helpful to me. His communication through out the whole process was excellent and the job came in on budget.

Location: E3
Reviewed in: February 2022
10

Restoration to my roof parapet walls and chimney.

Barl, restored my roof parapet walls and chimney. I am very happy with the finished work and the communication from the team was fantastic throughout. They made sure we were kept informed about the work, tidied up all mess made, I will be recommending them to friends and family without hesitation, and can honestly say the whole job was hassle free start to finish.

Location: E8
Reviewed in: January 2022
10

Flat roof replacement

Verified Review

Great service from barl, they installed a new fibreglass roof to my rear extension. The work has been carried out to an excellent standard and completed on time. Thanks for the solid turn out and we will most definitely use you again. We fully recommend this contractor.

Location: N1
Reviewed in: January 2022
9.5

Replacement roof

Verified Review

Genuine, passionate and top quality. These guys are super professional and the their work is of the highest standards. So much so I’ve booked another job with them!

Location: N1
Reviewed in: January 2022
10

Apply high performance rubber membrane to terrace

Verified Review

Work completed efficiently and to a high standard. Went beyond what was expected to ensure complete water-proofing. Know what they are doing, do not cut corners. I would strongly recommend Barl as roofing specialists.

Location: NW6
Reviewed in: May 2022
9.5

Leak

Verified Review

I had a massive leak in my home, it was coming through the light fixtures in my bedroom. I contacted BARL and they came out really quickly, the price was fair and the service was excellent. No more leaks and now I can sleep in peace.

Location: HP3
Reviewed in: January 2022
10

Installed a high performance coating to our flat roof

Verified Review

Barl installed a high performance coating to our flat roof on our house we are very pleased with the outcome it looks fantastic and was very good value, friendly and professional workmanship. Their service was great from start to finish, would highly recommend.

Location: SW6
Reviewed in: January 2022
2

I feel like I have been scammed.

Verified Review

Because there are so many good reviews on this site for BARL I bit the bullet and paid the £150 +VAT for the owner to come and give me a quote. He was at my Victorian terrace for less than 20 minutes and didn't even look in the roof space (easy access), he was still able to determine that I needed a brand new roof. The quote was it was 1 side of an A4 paper, looking like it was done on a template. The amount was for £26,950+VAT and £2,750+VAT for scaffolding. I responded saying this was rather high and could we reduce it somehow, maybe reuse the existing slate 6 weeks later there is no reply.

Location: E8
Reviewed in: January 2022

Reply from Buildings and Restorations Limited

Thank you for the feedback, We operate a standard call out fee for all roof inspections as this covers associated costs. This service provides ladder access to your roof, professional advice including recommendations, all summarised within a written quotation. All our clients are made aware of this information at initial contact, and also our refund policy which is applied if a client chooses to proceed. Our project managers are instructed to operate in a safe manner and to adhere to all COVID protocols. Roof inspections can be conducted accurately with external assessment only. The quote provided was for a new roof installation with the following specification: strip-out and disposal, new front, rear and rear return slate pitches fully insulated, parapet wall restoration and a full scaffolding to the front and rear of property. As a responsible company, we always include the associated costs of Building control certification. On this occasion, the offer we received was close to 50% of the amount we quoted. Unfortunately we felt that this was not a reasonable negotiation start point for us. As a responsible roofing company, we will only recommend works that are necessary and provide long-term waterproofing. Our reputation stands before us and is confirmed within our reviews on Checkatrade. Yours sincerely, Team barl

10

Completely new roof and house external decoration

Verified Review

Clear communication and excellent workmanship

Location: N1
Reviewed in: January 2022