Checkatrade

Customer Reviews

Reviews (New to Old)Reviews (New to Old)
10

New boiler fitted and pressure tank removed

Verified Review

Tyrone and Oakley were always on time, worked diligently, polite, kept the area's tidy at all times and left clean at end of the day. Work carried out exactly as requested even last minute extra requests. Would highly recommend.

10

System boiler conversion to combi boiler

Verified Review

Tyrone and son Oakley worked without breaks to complete a conversion from a system boiler with tanks to a combi boiler, new radiator valves, thermostat, new enhanced gas supply, tank extractions, water pipe re-routing and system cleaning within 48 hours. They explained all details to us at all stages, gave us options when faced with complications from a very old unforgiving house. Final price as discussed and quoted. Highly reliable, knowledgeable, trustworthy, personable and a pleasure to have in your home. They are very highly recommended and will use again without a second thought.

9.75

Refit of Bathroom for Elderly

Guidance given regarding products available, taking into account for an elderly person Sympathetic to needs Grad Rails, height of step into walk in shower, storage, cleaning as in chalky water area....... Carried out all works plumbing, electrics, boarding and flooring .... A smooth job with good communication..... Willing to revisit, even to move a shelf in storage for my elderly mum Excellent!

10

Boiler repair

Verified Review

Excellent service. Rang him in the morning a few hours later he was there and the boiler was fixed in about 20 minutes. Very competitive price too. Would 100% recommend

10

Excellent service an done when said it would be.

Verified Review

Very pleased with service provided.

10

Plumbing repair

Verified Review

Very quick and helpful

4.5

Callout for boiler that had stopped working

Verified Review

The call out charge was £69 all in, so I was told on the phone. A man was sent out who appeared to have no idea what he was doing, after 5 minutes or so he called his boss (tyrone guy) asking what to do, He then proceeded to bang the last of any life out of my boiler, leaving it worse than it was before he started. I was then sent a bill, which was more than £20 more than agreed. I told this person of my experience and he has bullied, threatened and harrassed me. Very unprofessional and untrustworthy

Score Breakdown

Workmanship

3

Courtesy

6

Reply from Tyrone Guy Ltd

Attended a call out to a boiler breakdown, the boiler was over 20 years old and unfortunately do not make parts for this anymore. On discussion with customer she agreed a call out charge we also quoted for a new boiler which she did not wish to proceed with due to our inability to provide finance ( which is something we are looking into in the future) chasing a payment for work carried out is not bullying we are very disappointed with this feedback and invoice still not paid.

9.75

Immersion heater element replaced.

Carried out quickly and professionally. The water is now hot again so if it stays that way I will be very happy.

9.75

Air lock in hot water system

Verified Review

Tyrone got back to us immediately, and came round to look at our problem really quickly. He carefully identified and shared potential causes of the problem, and then worked quickly to rule out the options. He resolved our problem, and gave us a clear course of action should the problem repeat. Great to know a reliable plumber that we can use again. Thank you Tyrone!

7.67

Blocked shower

Verified Review

This workman came by recommendation, so I did not question his reliability. He was here less than 30 minutes, went back to his car and immediately sent me an invoice for £180.00. At no time did he ever communicate anything to do with financial arrangements so I was completely stunned that such a lot of money could be charged for so little effort and time. When I questioned as to why it was such a large amount I was notified that £60 of the charge was travelling time, on top of the 30 minutes he was here and that the fluid used to clear the blockage was £20.99, among other things. I refused to pay such a large amount so was immediately threatened with further proceedings, which worried me greatly. The amount was reduced by £60, but only after the intervention of my family. At no time has there ever been any kind of verbal discussion. I am still awaiting a receipt, even though I have asked. All in all, an extremely unpleasant and worrying experience, especially as I have so recently been extremely ill.

Score Breakdown

Reliability & timekeeping

10

Tidiness

7

Courtesy

6

Reply from Tyrone Guy Ltd

I always pride myself on my reliability and workmanship, hence that is why I came recommended. I will have to disagree with you on the time spent on the job. I took into consideration your ill health and even took the time to assist with additional activities . You have received the receipt for the work carried out and successfully rectified. I worked with you and your family to bring the price down and you refused to pay. Unfortunately I could not have done the job for free. From this experience I will be changing my approach to people who need care.