Customer Reviews (290)

Reviews (New to Old)Reviews (New to Old)
10

Wall removal, steels installed, kitchen fitting, flooring fitting, re-wiring.

Verified Review

Ash and his team are fantastic, they went above and beyond to ensure all of our work was completed to the highest standard and under a tight time scale. His team were very friendly, helpful and left the site tidy every day. No obstacle was too much and I have recommended A1 to a number of people already. We will definitely work wish A1 again for any future works.

Location: TN2
Reviewed in: December 2022
10

Removal of walls to create an open plan area. Removal and fitting of new kitchen and windows.

Verified Review

We contacted Ash following a strong recommendation from friends of ours. From the moment we met him, we had total faith in him to deliver what we wanted. He coordinates a great team- Adam, Warren and Tom each with their own specialisms, and Ash himself is always on hand to oversee and undertake aspects of the job himself. If there were ever any unexpected issues to resolve or additional extras to add, it was never any trouble, and all carried out to a superb standard- always with a warm smile and a friendly handshake. We are so thrilled with the results, and the transformation it has made.

Location: TN4
Reviewed in: December 2022
10

Preparation for new windows

Verified Review

We've used Ash and A1 extensively this year and this time around they kindly helped prepare a couple of areas ahead of window installation. This included, erecting scaffolding and removing a bathroom window, removing old patio slabs and damp proofing surrounding areas. On some occasions, we've had hiccups throughout our renovation caused by other trades. Ash has been incredible by always being on hand to help and solve the issues. Communication, proactivity, quality of work and willingness to help has been absolutely second to none. Can't speak highly enough - 100% recommended!

Location: TN1
Reviewed in: December 2022
10

Refurbishment works

Verified Review

I’ve been using A1 for years. The team carried out refurbishment project. A few extra bits of work cropped up (standard in most projects) and as usual Ash communicated and checked in with me on each occasion. The team worked very hard to complete the work within the estimated time and to their very high standard. I’m delighted with the end result and highly recommended this ever expanding extremely talented building company.

Location: TN4
Reviewed in: November 2022
10

Full ground floor remodel

Verified Review

2nd time appointing A1 this year after an incredible job on structural alterations over summer. This job was for a full ground-floor remodel inc. Electrical re-wire and new fittings, kitchen removal, prep and levelling ahead of herringbone floor, Victorian tiled hallway, new radiators and complete redecoration inc. Cornice, skirting, alcove shelfing, plastering and painting. As usual, the work was completed to a perfect standard and the team are a pleasure to have on site. Ash and A1 have been hugely helpful with all aspects of advice and are extremely communicative and efficient. 10/10!

Location: TN1
Reviewed in: November 2022
4.75

Stage 1 of possible loft conversion - stud walls and fire door at top of new staircase to loft

Verified Review

1) Builder told all work must be to building regs. Sketchy quote, no written quotes for extras. After paying in full (including extra £3K for party wall insulation – they asked for after job had started and ceiling removed) we reviewed emails re building regs, looked at drawings, then realised that this work was already included on drawings. 2) Admitted in email, despite being called for on drawings, no roof insulation fitted between and below rafters above stairwell. 3) Exorbitant extra £600 demanded to substitute MDF treads and risers with wood. 4) Builder refused to continue correspondence.

Score Breakdown

Workmanship

5

Timekeeping

6

Tidiness

6

Courtesy

2
Location: TN12
Reviewed in: October 2022

Reply from A1 Building Contracts Ltd

First Negative review in 11 years & 285 reviews. We believe our track record shows the real truth here. Quoted this customer saying building regs are required to fit steels as per drawing for a loft conversion. Their brief was that they only wanted a staircase leading to a door into the loft. We quoted for this! They required two steel beams to be fitted for the new stairs, no other work required. We were then told they had gone for building regs. This meant we had to insulate the party wall. His wife agreed to costs on site with our staff present all was carried out. We finished the works to tears of joy from the wife & gifts left in a bag for each guy. Three months later the husband started emailing asking for money back saying we will not give you a favourable review on checkatrade if you don’t pay the extras money back in full. We said this was unreasonable & declined. They also changed the staircase make up from MDF to real timber & didn’t like pay for extra Quilty. We advise all trade to steer clear of these clients.

10

Replacement of old felt and broken tiles

Verified Review

Excellent work again. Any concerns that I had were dealt with immediately. Kept me informed when things were going to happen and when the job was completed. Would highly recommend and use again

Location: TN6
Reviewed in: October 2022
10

Fitting a new gas meter cupboard and removing and bricking up a garage window

Verified Review

I put off getting the gas meter cupboard replaced as it would be a complicated procedure. However, I needn't have worried. Ash and his team were just brilliant. I liaised with SGN and Ash fitted the work in around them. They also removed a garage window and bricked it up, beautifully, The team - Warren and Tom - were lovely, hardworking and tidy. Ash checked in regularly to ensure the work was progressing well. I am delighted with the result and would wholeheartedly recommend them. A huge thank you to the guys for making the process stress-less and to Ash for dealing with any issues that arose.

Location: TN6
Reviewed in: September 2022
10

Kitchen/living room knock through.

Ash and his team were very professional from the quotation period to the very completion of the job. Punctual, completed what was required from us and his team were great throughout the job. As a fellow professional in the industry (heating and plumbing) I would strongly recommend A1 and would have them in my house again. I am already discussing the installation of a downstairs toilet/shower room with A1 after the great job they have done for us. That’s Ash, Warren and team

Location: TN4
Reviewed in: August 2022
10

Structural work to exterior and interior

Verified Review

I cannot recommend Ash and the team at A1 Building highly enough. We appointed Ash after receiving visits and quotes from a few other builders, but Ash's attention to detail, professionalism, knowledge and responsiveness made it a very easy decision for us. All of the team on-site (Warren, Adam and Tom) are a pleasure to have in the house and Ash visited every day to ensure everything was running smoothly. Along the way, we made some design alterations, which the team took in their stride and were happy to offer advice and guidance on. We wouldn't hesitate to use A1 Building again.

Location: TN1
Reviewed in: August 2022