Customer Reviews (56)

Reviews (New to Old)Reviews (New to Old)
10

Garage conversion to office

Verified Review

Very positive experience from the initial quote right though to completion of the work. John and his team were great. Would highly recommend. The quote was accurate, the work was carried out on time and we were kept informed of anything relevant. We are very pleased with the final result and would use Baker Developments again in the future. Thanks

Location: YO19
Reviewed in: December 2021
10

Groundworks, drainage, tree removal, walling and flagging

We are very happy with the high quality and standard that Baker Developments offered throughout our project. This included resurfacing and prepping the ground for new flags, rebuilding a sizeable garden wall including all drainage and removing an old apple tree. We wouldnt hesitate recommending John and his team to anyone looking to carry out building work. Thank you John and Baker Developments!!

Location: YO30
Reviewed in: February 2021
10

Large pitched roof extension, complete renovations throughout the property and extensive landscape gardening.

Verified Review

I couldn’t recommend John and his team highly enough. They were fantastic, an absolute pleasure to work with. They never missed a day through the dreadful pandemic. Work has been completed to the highest standard in a friendly timely fashion. If you need a builder, do yourself a favour and look no further.

Location: York
Reviewed in: August 2020
10

Extension, single storey, of approximately 9.5x4.5m

Verified Review

From the outset, dealing with John Baker was a pleasure. He is knowledgeable, polite, honest and open. His quotation was competitive, with a very comprehensive breakdown of costs. The use of a standard contract inspired confidence. His own team and chosen sub contractors were first rate. The work was completed to a high standard, in a timely manner. The team were polite, considerate and skilled. Any +/- cost changes, due to agreed work changes, were very reasonable. Stage payments were only requested once the stage work had been achieved. This was a stress free project. Highly recommended.

Location: York
Reviewed in: March 2020
10

Refurbishment (inc plastering/damp treatment, external wall repair/repointing, joist repair, new kitchen and electrics)

Verified Review

John is friendly, experienced and professional. He gave excellent advice, the end results exceeded my expectations, and he and Darren were a pleasure to have in the house. All 10s from me, and I can see why he gets them from everyone else. Highly recommended.

Location: York
Reviewed in: May 2019
10

Stripping out and internal refurbishment.

Verified Review

Being new to the area, I was very fortunate to find John. He and his team completed a variety of building related works to a very high standard and I was impressed with his commitment and professionalism. I would have no hesitation in recommending Baker Developments or using them again on future projects.

Location: YO19
Reviewed in: May 2021
10

Brick pillars for drive entrance

Verified Review

Excellent quality of work and all completed within agreed timescale and budget. Friendly and polite and even went the extra mile to come out later ( without being asked ) to cover the new brick work went it rained over the weekend and then uncovered it early the next day (Sunday) to ensure finished drying. Highly recommended both for quality of work and service and will definitely use again for future work and recommend to friends.

Location: York
Reviewed in: October 2020
10

Removal of chimney, plastering, joinery

Excellent standard of workmanship, cant recommend them enough. Would always use Baker Developments even if we had to wait. Friendly and good value service.

Location: York
Reviewed in: July 2020
10

Complete house renovation

Verified Review

John has turned my very tired and dated house into a comfortable and modern home, reconfiguring the internal space including major structural alterations, installing new roofing and Velux windows, re-laying floors and re-plastering the whole house. From the outset and over the whole project he's been flexible and offered advice and helpful suggestions where needed, he's conscientious and has meticulous attention to detail, always thinking of ways to make the finished product the best it can be. John helped to make what could have been a very stressful period into an enjoyable project!

Location: York
Reviewed in: June 2019
10

Chimney Breast Removal/Gallow Bracket install

Verified Review

What an incredible service! John was quick to reply to our initial quotation request and turned up the next day to look at the job. Quote received and agreed in the following few days. A polite and friendly team turned up prior to their starting hours to prep. Work was carried out quickly, efficiently and just as requested. The house looked cleaner when they left than when they arrived and they even washed up their tea round mugs at the end of the day. It's so great to know we have finally found a building team we can trust and rely on. Thank you!

Location: York
Reviewed in: May 2019