Customer Reviews (50)

Reviews (New to Old)Reviews (New to Old)
9

Installing a Saniflow Toilet in a Georgian Church in Bath

Verified Review

Steve and his team did a superb job installing a Saniflow Toilet in St Swithin's Church in Bath. They were helpful and friendly and finished off the panelling really well. Would have no hesitation in recommending!

Location: BA1
Reviewed in: May 2022
10

Leaking pipe behind toilet

Verified Review

Very pleased with a prompt reply from Steve the owner of this business who was able to get a plumber to me within an hour of my phone call. The problem was diagnosed and fixed efficiently by a pleasant and courteous plumber (another Steve) . I thoroughly recommend this company.

Location: BS39
Reviewed in: November 2021
0

No work carried out

Verified Review

I contacted Drain Away to solve a probable hot tap washer problem. Unfortunately Drain Away did not turn up on original date due to an emergency elsewhere. I accept that happens. So new date/time was arranged. But on rearranged day I get text saying he can't make it till 11:30-12 Noon. No good to me at all. I'd already twice rearranged other appointments etc around this work. This totally unacceptable and left me unable to have hot bath having to make do with flannel wash!!  Previous work carried out by Drain Away was only so so.  So do not recommend this Drain Away as totally unreliable!!

Location: Bath
Reviewed in: May 2021

Reply from Drain Away (Bristol)

The customer may wish and believe this work was trivial; even though last year when we did work for him the problems were evident then, and he had either had someone round or tried himself to solve the problem with the bath taps and they had failed. We informed him that we would need to see the job before we could confirm what the job was and what the price would be, we agreed we would come round to assess the job and had to delay because of an emergency, the customer was informed but reacted in an abusive way. We offered to come round three hours later than originally offered but he was having none of it. We have done work for this customer before and to my certain knowledge he was delighted with the work done and made no reference to it being “so so”, or he would not have engaged us to do more. Needless to say we are not interested in doing any further work for this customer.

10

Blocked rain water gully

Verified Review

I contacted Drain Away on Monday.Steve came and looked at the problem on Tuesday and the work was completed on Wednesday by Steve Tarrant. Excellent service. Thank you.

Location: BA1
Reviewed in: March 2021
9.5

To locate and repair leak from shower

We all know that plumbers are like gold dust but this plumbing company I would give them gold stars - they were excellent. Steve next day to review work and started next day. Very prompt, trustworthy and efficient service and excellent quality. Also cleared up after himself every day. I would definitely recommend this company.

Location: Wick
Reviewed in: February 2021
10

Drain and gully replacement

Verified Review

After having some building work done we discovered crack pipes and some significant leaks/issues with our drainage. Which required immediate attention. As soon as Drain Away came on the scene to survey the work initially, Steve and his team inspired confidence. They identified the issue and I appreciated they took the time to explain carefully what had happened and how they were going to rectify and what techniques they were using. And were patient when I asked questions. When it came to executing the work they were efficient, courteous and kept to the budget they quoted. Very satisfied.

Location: BS4
Reviewed in: February 2022
2.25

Fixing a leak in a soil pipe.

Verified Review

Steve came around to fix a leak on my external soil pipe. When it came to giving me the invoice, he mentioned that the work had taken two hours. Steve was at my property for 45 minutes-1hr maximum. I was present the whole time. When gently challenged, he begrudgingly agreed, charged me for an hour and left in a bad mood. I cleaned up. On closer inspection of the invoice, he charged me £22.45 which costs £7.50. I wouldn’t not recommend Steve unfortunately.

Score Breakdown

Workmanship

3

Timekeeping

2

Tidiness

0

Courtesy

4
Location: BS3
Reviewed in: July 2021

Reply from Drain Away (Bristol)

I estimated that the job would take up to 2 hours and the cost including materials and VAT would be up to £150. The job was easier than expected and I was on site for an hour, but that did not include going to the merchant for materials, that were purchased for this job and which you were given a choice about colour. You told me you were not prepared to pay for two hours labour before I had even finished the job and you told me you would clear up the mess on the ground as that would have added to the time on site. You accepted an invoice for just under a £100, then sent me a text saying you had deducted £15.00 from the bill because I had overcharged you ; well that’s not true either I used 1.5 tubes of sealant and a small bottle of water displacer to dry the pipework before I sealed it; I old you I was doing that. I replied to your text about the overcharging; you are simply not allowed to make adjustments to payments without agreement Thank you for leaving the review and giving me the chance to reply

10

Drainage in shower

The job proved to be more difficult than expected, but I was satisfied with what was explained to me.

Location: Bath
Reviewed in: March 2021
9.75

New pipes needed under the sink going out the main pipe

Absolutely fantastic, job completed to a very high standard, very professional and friendly.

Location: BS7
Reviewed in: February 2021
8.75

Repair to leaking heating pipe

Verified Review

Emergency call out to water cascading through ceiling light. Pipe located and repair made the following day with a return call a week later to check repair and replace insulation in a now dried out loft space.

Location: Bristol
Reviewed in: December 2020